The Sydney Prizes Help Recognize Good Work

There are many individuals working tirelessly to make an impactful contribution to humanity, and they deserve recognition. Sydney Prizes offer activists and writers alike the recognition they need to continue doing good work; additionally, these awards come with various advantages that help reach a broader audience.

Sydney Prize winners will receive significant sums of money that they can use to further their plans and inspire others to follow them. This can be especially helpful for those whose main aim is teaching children science concepts – they could use these funds to expand their teaching efforts. In addition, Sydney Prize winners are recognized by local governments and organizations – such as Lord Mayor Clover Moore of Sydney – and may even be invited to speak at events and spread inspiration further.

The Neilma Sydney Prize is an annual writing contest sponsored by Overland Magazine and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation that awards one author with a $5,0000 prize as well as publication both online and in Overland magazine. Judges are looking for short fiction centered around travel themes; and soon thereafter will announce both winners and runners-up.

This award recognizes Professor Sidney Cox for the profound impact he had on hundreds of Dartmouth students both inside and outside his classes, personifying Phi Beta Kappa ideals in all that he did. It seeks to recognize undergraduate writing that most closely adheres to his high standards for originality and integrity both inside his classes as well as within his personal writing portfolio.

The Andrew Gemant Prize recognizes those physicists who have made outstanding contributions to physics’ cultural, artistic, or humanistic aspects through publications, papers, lectures or works that connect art, media and literature to scientific theory. Sidney Perkowitz, this year’s recipient, has tirelessly worked to bridge the divide between scientists and the general public by linking art, media, literature and particle physics through various channels. He has long championed making physics more accessible to a broader public and is renowned for both writing and speaking on this cause. Despite all of the demands placed upon his time, his dedication has not wavered despite enormous workload demands; thus the selection committee is delighted to recognize and reward him for his efforts. The award will be presented at Washington, DC in October 2023 – for more information, visit:


April 2024

Recent Posts